Fabien Darfeuille

Group leader (DR2 INSERM)

After having defended his PhD thesis in 2002 in the lab of Dr. JJ. Toulmé (Targeting HIV-1 replication with RNA aptamers), Fabien went to the lab of Pr. G. Wagner (ICM, Uppsala, Sweden) to work on small regulatory RNA in E. coli. In 2006, he obtained a researcher position at the ARNA laboratory (University of Bordeaux) to search for small regulatory RNA in the gastric pathogen H. pylori. Since 2011, he is also the team leader of the STRAMES team, one of the ARNA lab team. DARFEUILLE_CV

Isabelle Iost

Researcher (CRCN CNRS)

Isabelle worked in the field of RNA decay, RNA helicases and ribosome biogenesis in E. coli (group of M. Dreyfus, at the Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris). She also worked on RNA helicase and translation in the yeast S. cerevisiae (group of P. Linder in Geneva). She is now studying the role of some antisense RNAs in H. pylori.

Sandrine Chabas

Engineer (IE INSERM)

Sandrine is our lab manager (the Tinkerbell fairy of the D-Lab)

Fanny Boissier

Engineer (IE Univ. Bordeaux)

Fanny is our expert in protein expression and purification. Her project studies how H. pylori’s RNases work and interact with each other from a structural biology perspective.

Delphine Bronesky

Postdoctoral researcher (ANR grant)

Delphine’s project aims at deciphering ways of activating toxin expression with the final goal of using it as an alternative to antibiotics to treat H. pylori infections

Anais Le Rhun

Postdoctoral researcher  (IdEx Bordeaux program)

Anaïs’s project aims at understanding the function of a new family of type I toxin-antitoxin (TAs) systems  identified on the chromosome of the major human gastric pathogen, Helicobacter pylori.

Simon Bonabal

PhD student  (Genetics)

Simon’s project deals with the characterization of the AapA1 toxin in the model organism Escherichia coli.

Former members

  • Cathy Staedel (2007-2019) researcher retired in May 2018
  • Jérémy Reignier (PhD, 2007-2010) now in Merck Serono, Switzerland
  • Cédric Belair (PhD, 2006-2010) now in Sandra Wolin lab, Yale University, USA
  • Jessica Baud (PhD, 2008-2012) now in Institut Bergonié, Bordeaux, France
  • Dursun Nizam Korkut (PhD, 2012-2015)
  • Sara Masachis Gelo (2015-2018, PhD ITN MetaRNA) now in Marin’s Lab, Munich, Germany
  • Jaydip Ghosh (Postdoc, 2007-2009)
  • Maya Ayach (Postdoc, 2013-2015)
  • Claire Lays (Postdoc, 2013-2015), now in CIRI, Lyon, France
  • Hassane Hammoutène (Master Microbiology in 2007) now Teacher in Lycée Bordeaux
  • Hélène Arnion (Master, 2008-2013)
  • David Mallangin (Master Poitiers, 2010-2011)
  • Kim Barroso (Master Genetics, 2012-2013)
  • Claire Charenton (Master, 2009-2010)
  • Marion Faucher (Master, 2014-2015)
  • Nicolas Fix (Master, 2016-2017)
  • Tifenn Desroziers (Master, 2017-2018)

Visiting scientist and students

  • Cynthia M. Sharma (in 2006 while PhD student in Joerg Vogel lab) now group leader at IMIB, University of Wurzburg (Germany)
  • Hubert Salvail (2007, 2008, 2009, Bachelor, Master, then PhD student in Eric Massé’s lab) now postdoc in E. Grossman lab (Yale University, USA)
  • Valérie Lajoie (Master in Sherbrooke University (2009)) now in Sterinova

Lab Life